Niklas Peter

Research Fellow
tel.: +49 (0)30 31805463
peter@nexusinstitut.de

Following his studies of Business Economics, Niklas Peter completed a master’s degree in environmental technology at the Imperial College London, where he specialised in environmental analysis and assessment. In projects with Veolia SA UK and the London Borough of Hounslow, he gathered experience in the conception of strategies in the circular economy and performed an environmental assessment of a former landfill site in west London to advise on the placement of a secondary school. His thesis investigated the sustainability performance of vertical farming utilising life-cycle assessments.

Additionally, he completed a master’s degree in economics at the University of Mannheim, specialising in environmental economics and impact assessment. In his thesis, he investigated the potential of an enhanced circular economy in the building materials sector, focusing on waste concrete, cement production, and the utilisation of process-related CO2 emissions. At the same time, Niklas Peter worked in the Department of Environmental Sustainability of HeidelbergCement AG, which coordinates the organisation’s sustainability activities.

He joined the nexus Institute in 2021. His research interests focus on climate- and environmental protection, the circular economy, smart cities, and decision-making under uncertainty. He is particularly interested in applying methods of co-production and multi-stakeholder collaboration to to improve decision making processes and enable sustainable value creation.

Niklas Peter

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Fon: +49 (0)30 31805463
peter@nexusinstitut.de

Nach seinem Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre mit den Schwerpunkten Finanzen und Mikroökonomie absolvierte Niklas Peter einen Master in Umwelttechnik am Imperial College London mit der Spezialisierung Umweltanalyse und -bewertung. Dort sammelte er zudem Projekterfahrung in der Konzeption von Kreislaufwirtschaftsstrategien für Veolia SA UK. Außerdem übernahm er Verantwortung in einem Projekt des London Borough of Hounslow, welches die Eignung einer ehemaligen Mülldeponie für das Errichten einer Sekundarschule untersuchte. In seiner Masterarbeit untersuchte er die Nachhaltigkeitsperformance der Technologie der vertikalen Landwirtschaft, insbesondere unter Anwendung von Life-Cycle Assessments.

Im Anschluss absolvierte er einen Master der Volkswirtschaftslehre in Mannheim. Dort spezialisierte er sich auf die Bereiche Umweltökonomie und quantitative Wirkungsevaluation und setzte sich intensiv mit Themen wie dem Klimawandel, der Energiewende, Entwicklungsarbeit, Abholzung und Digitalisierung auseinander. Seine Abschlussarbeit untersuchte das Potential einer weiterführenden Kreislaufwirtschaft im Baustoffsektor, mit dem Fokus auf Betonabbruch, Zementherstellung und der Verwertung von prozessbedingten CO2 Emissionen. Nebenbei war Niklas Peter bei HeidelbergCement im Bereich Environmental Sustainability beschäftigt, welcher die Koordinierung der konzernweiten Nachhaltigkeitsarbeit als zentrale Aufgabe innehält.

Seit September 2021 ist Niklas Peter am nexus Institut beschäftigt. Seine Arbeits- und Forschungsinteressen liegen in den Bereichen Innovations- und Transformationsprozesse, der Ko-Produktion und Multi-Stakeholder Kollaboration.