Amy Winkler

Ecological Federal Voluntary Service
tel.: +49 (0)30 31805463
winkler@nexusinstitut.de

Amy Winkler obtained her Bachelor of Arts in German and English from Heidelberg University. During her time as a student, she worked as a research assistant for the German Medieval Studies department. She received a scholarship from the German National Academic Foundation in 2016.

Through her specialisation in linguistics, Amy discovered and developed a strong interest in social science – particularly in social psychological phenomena (such as social identity and hierarchy), and their relation to verbal, non- and paraverbal forms of interaction. At the same time, she increasingly became interested in human-environment-relations, their crises and the according societal transformations at hand: she attended, for example, interdisciplinary courses at Heidelberg University and the Oslo School of Environmental Humanities, and worked as a volunteer for both Fridays for Future and the educational organisation „Climate Fresk“.

In order to combine and pursue both interests – social science and human-environment-relations – and further develop her research skills, she is currently spending a ten-month voluntary ecological service (October 2021 – Juli 2022) at the nexus Institute.

Amy Winkler

Teilnehmerin im ökologischen Bundesfreiwilligendienst
Fon: +49 (0)30 31805463
winkler@nexusinstitut.de

Amy Winkler studierte im Bachelor Germanistik und Anglistik an der Universität Heidelberg. Dort war sie im Bereich der Mediävistik als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft tätig. Seit 2016 ist sie außerdem Stipendiatin der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes.

Im Rahmen ihres sprachwissenschaftlichen Studienschwerpunkts entdeckte und vertiefte sie ein starkes Interesse an sozialwissenschaftlichen, insbesondere sozialpsychologischen, Forschungsmethoden und Fragestellungen. Zeitgleich begann sie, sich zunehmend mit Mensch-Umwelt-Verhältnissen, deren Krisen sowie der entsprechenden anstehenden Gesellschaftstransformation zu beschäftigen – beispielsweise im Rahmen interdisziplinärer Kurse an der Universität Heidelberg und der Oslo School of Environmental Humanities, sowie ehrenamtlichen Engagements für Fridays for Future und das Bildungsprojekt Climate Fresk.

Um beiden größeren Interessen nachzugehen – Sozialwissenschaft und sozial-ökologische Transformation – sowie ihre wissenschaftlichen Fähigkeiten weiter auszubauen, entschied sie sich für einen ökologischen Bundesfreiwilligendienst am nexus Institut. Dort ist seit Oktober 2021 bis Ende Juli 2022 an diversen Projekten mit beteiligt.